European countries prohibiting paid political advertising

European Platform of Regulatory Authorities Paid political advertising is statutorily forbidden in the vast majority of Western European countries such as Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Malta, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, and the UK. Several countries from central and Eastern Europe such as the Czech Republic and Romania, also have a prohibition of paid political advertising.

Source: "23rd EPRA Meeting, Background paper – Plenary. Political advertising: case studies and monitoring. EPRA Secretariat," European Platform of Regulatory Authorities: Elsinore, Denmark. May 17-19, 2006. [verified 4/22/14]